Some reflections and experiments

Hi everyone!

I was chatting a bit with Chris Brejon, and he thought it would be useful if I shared some reflections and experiments I have done here. For those who don’t know me, my background is in video games and I guess my biggest claim to fame is having made Oklab, which I have seen pop up a few times in discussion here. I have never really worked with any part of ACES except for the output transforms, so my knowledge is a bit lacking regarding how it fits into the bigger picture.

This surely ended up being a lot of text and certainly more than I initially anticipated! I hope you found this interesting and relevant and that this post gives some fresh perspective and some new insights. Some of it has certainly been said before here, but hopefully most of it is new or different enough.

The post is split into three topics:

• Dealing with the sharp edges and corners of RGB gamuts
  • Finding a path to white
  • Input gamuts

Dealing with the sharp edges and corners of RGB gamuts

The shape of RGB gamuts form transformed cubes in linear color spaces (and some kind of distorted cubes in perceptual models). A consequence of this is that of you plot the hull of an RGB, you will not get smoothly varying colors.

Here is a simple unwrap of linear sRGB:

The edges of the RGB volume are clearly visible as lines, meeting up at the RGB primaries and cyan, magenta and yellow.

This uneven shape poses a problem when doing gamut compression to RGB color spaces, at least if the mapping is required to reach all colors in the gamut. You end up in a situation where some smooth line in the input gamut is mapped the hull of the target RGB gamut, making the output non-smooth wherever the edges of the cubes are crossed.