ACES vs. ProPhoto For Still Images and Archiving

I am pretty new to ACES and I just started familiarizing myself with its concept and capabilities.
I don’t work in the film industry by the way but rather in digital photography and archiving as a color expert in terms of color correction authenticity/fidelity and reproduction.

Now after reading and watching some content on ACES I got that AP0 is so large that it covers the whole color gamut however it could be impractical when it comes to color manipulation and editing. Hence, a newer gamut came to light known as AP1 which is much smaller in compariosn but still covering almost (a bit more than) Rec.2020 but not as large as ProPhoto for instance!

So I started to wonder about the following:
if I am concered in preserving a master file, in terms of color, with the largest gamut possible ,which am using in my workflow for texturing 3D models by the way, then is ACES any good for me really or do I stick rather to ProPhoto?

Yet the bigger question:
if ACES(AP1) is the recommended and the practical standard, why not to go with ProPhoto instead as it is obviously much larger?

Could somebody point out why ProPhoto is out of consideration altogether?
I didn’t come across anyone mentioning it when they talk about ACES. Why did they ditch it as a wide-gamut color space after all and come up with ACES(AP1)?

Since you work in digital photography, it would be best to stick with ProPhoto RGB for archival. No photographic stills camera applications are built with ACES workflows in mind currently. It is possible to use ACES in Affinity Photo or Photoshop with the help of OpencolorIO, however the workflow can be quite cumbersome, especially for a lot of images. It definitely isn’t as seamless as in video applications/workflows. If you use Adobe to process camera raw images you won’t gain much (if anything) by switching to ACES AP0. The internal working space for acr/lightroom uses prophoto rgb primaries.