ACES workflow in nuke

Hi

I am quite new to ACES so please bear with me. I have just started at a new company and the current colour workflow doesn’t seem quite right to me. Their work flow goes as follows. Scans are read in as RAW and then converted from ACES 2067 to ACES CG. DMP is done in a simular way with CG rendered in ACES CG. This is then all comped together and rendered out as RAW. This doesn’t seem correct as the elements are not put together in the same colour space inside nuke and rendering out as RAW doesn’t seem right too. I would have thought that the correct workflow would be to pull in the scan in as ACES 2067, convert it to ACES CG, do the same with the DMP and this would mean that the scan, DMP and CG are all working together in ACES CG. Then either rendering it out as ACES CG or convert it back to ACES 2067. Any thought on this would be greatly appreciated.

Hello and Welcome here Neil.
I think you might need to give more details about your workflow to help us better understand what’s going on.

What do you call scans ? Could you tell us in what colorspace these scans are ?

By RAW do you mean Utility-Raw ?

And could you add some precisons on what is the intended final output ? Did it need to be pass to other departements, is it the final delivery ?

Cheers.
Liam.

1 Like

Hi Liam, thanks for welcoming me. Ok by scans I mean footage shot on Sony Venice 4k camera. The footage is being ingested by editorial and written out RAW for us to pick up in nuke and setting it to RAW in the read node. It’s being set to RAW by selecting the check box in the read node and not by setting the colour space to utility - raw in the read node. The footage is being processed by technicolour before it reaches us so I’ll have to double check how it’s being outputted their end. The intended output our end is once we render it it is send back to the client.

Thanks

Neil