ACEScg Lightwave3D Fusion workflow

I’m new to ACEScg I have a workflow question

I render in Lightwave 3D which does not have built in ACES support or any type of OCIO native support the only thing I can do is render 16/32 bit linear EXR’s. I then take those files into Fusion 9 and do my comps in the traditional linear workflow.

I have downloaded the latest ACES config files ver 1.2

Inside Fusion I load my rendered EXR’s and then use a OCIO color node that I have pointed to my aces_1.2 config file

I then set the Source Space in the OCIO node to Utility-Linear sRGB and the Output Space to ACES-ACEScg

I then duplicate that OCIO node and within the duplicated OCIO node set the Source Space to ACES-ACEScg and the Output Space to Utility-LInear-sRGB

I then click the LUT button in the viewer and choose OCIO ColorSpace ViewLUT and under edit point the OCIO Config setting to the 1.2 config.ocio file and set Source Space to ACEScg and Output Space to Output-sRGB

When I drop a color corrector node between the two OCIO color space nodes (ACEScg out <----> ACEScg in) I cant really see a difference. I can put the original EXR sRGB render and the ACEScg workflow in side by side viewers each with a color corrector with the same settings and not see a difference.

Is this the correct set up and am I truly working in ACES, or am I limited because I can only render sRGB EXR’s from Lightwave 3D and working in a pseudo ACEScg color space/workflow?

1 Like

I’m replying to my own post.

I think I figured things out initially I had the second OCIO ColorSpace node Output Space set to Utility-Linear sRGB but it should have been set for Output-sRGB the same settings as the OCIO ColorSpace ViewLUT

I also realized I only needed to use the OCIO ColorSpace ViewLUT when viewing the first OCIO ColorSpace node since that’s the one that is outputting ACEScg