AE h264 ODT vs display color space

Hello guys!
I am studying Aces because where I work we are starting sperimenting with vfx and collaborating with different department (we’re not really a vfx company).

We are thinking about creating a workflow in Aces, starting from capturing live action shoots with a sony alpha 7s, conforming and editing with (probably) AE or Davinci, vfx with nuke and last step probably again in AE (I really hope to bypass ae and use davinci but it is not a decision I can take).

Anyway, our situation is: once we have all the vfx shots done in nuke, exported as .exr with let’s say aces cg or the native slog3 sgamut3.cine we are going to import them in Ae for the grading and final touches. We know that our delivery format will be in h264 .mp4. So in Ae, set in aces, is it better to work with display color space set to srgb or rec709?
I know that h264 embed rec709 so my first thought would be to work in rec709 (even if my display is srgb) and set the output color space for the h264 in the render queue as rec709.
Does this make sense to you?

How can I be sure that the mp4 played with vlc on my pc, therefore my monitor, is 1:1 to what I see in AE?

probably it is a dumb/basic question but I’d like to know from you the best practice…

from my tests if i keep everything in srgb and export an mp4 with odt set to srgb,when I play in vlc next to ae seems to be 1:1. On the other hand if I set the odt to rec 709 this is slilght different… and this is ok. But from my knowledge you cannot put srgb inside an mp4 which will always be rec709… I am missing something for sure…

thank you guys for your time and for helping me

Mario

It’s a question I’d hoped to be basic but unforetunately has a complicated answer which isn’t related to ACES…