Color variation in Nuke using ACEScg and P3-D65 ODT

Hello,
This is my first time post on this forum and new to ACEScg.
I am currently experiencing difficulty getting the Nuke viewer, and Write node renders to match? I’m working on a project rendered from Maya 2020/Arnold using ACEScg and P3-D65 ODT. I’m using OCIO config 1.2 in both Maya and Nuke and the color variation is noticeable. In a separate test I have imported a P3-D65 McBeth chart (EXR) into Nuke to make sure its not a render issue from Maya. The basic McBeth test still shows the same color/exposure variation which has now got me completely stumped. From what I’ve researched my settings listed below are correct?

Nuke Project Settings:
Working Space: scene_linear (ACES - ACEScg)
Monitor: P3-D65
8-bit, 16bit and log files: default settings
Float files: scene_linear (ACES - ACEScg)

Viewer Setting:
P3-D65

Read File Node Settings:
Color space: scene_linear (ACES - ACEScg)

Write node setting:
Colorspace: P3-D65

I hope someone has experienced this issue and can pinpoint a solution?

Cheers
Darren

1 Like

Hey there Darren, welcome.

I think it will be hard to help you without a bit more data :

• what file format do you use to transfer your renders to nuke
  • where is the shift happening ? In the nuke viewer ? In the media written to disk from Nuke ?
  • could you provide nda-safe screenshot of Maya/Nuke/export using the macbeth so we can maybe have a better idea at what the difference looks like ?

Cheers.
Liam.

Hello Liam,
I am positive it is happening when writing to disk. But i’m more than happy to be corrected!

I exported multichannel exr’s from Maya. I have attached the requested images and hope this helps.

Nuke Viewer

Nuke Write

Cheers,
Darren

Thanks, what exact colorspace are you using on the write node ? Is it Output - P3D65 ?
Also the format you are exporting in and the image viewer you are then using has its importance.