Concatenating transforms to straighten curve

I’m quite new in ACES world and I have a lot to learn for sure. But I have already had that awkward feeling when working for an sRGB ODT. Somehow it feels sometimes I’m fighting, inside Davinci Resolve, against the harder contrast the RRT+ODT impose, specially in dark scenes…

Things get clearer when you see what’s going on on a grey ramp’s waveform.

I guess we should get used to it and learn how to deal with it, shot by shot. But meanwhile I found this workaround:
I use two nodes with AcesTransform OFX, the first converting ACEScct to Rec709, and the second one converting sRGB to ACEScct. I’ve found this way I can rectify the curve and also get the possibility of putting a node between them to make some primary grading in davinci’s normal behavior (although I don’t know if that is such a good idea…).

Wether this method messes the image up in any destructive way or not, I cannot tell yet. So far is working fine. But you tell me if I’m doing something wrong and I’m not seeing it.

Kind regards!
Ignacio

1 Like

I think what you are referring to as “Davinci’s normal behavior” is just output-referred grading. As in - you are manipulating the same code values that are being sent to the display.

When using ACES, you are grading scene-referred and viewing the effect of those changes in a display-referred space (actually you’re grading on a logarithmic representation of the scene-referred data so that the film-like grading controls respond familiarly). Some people call this grading “under a LUT”. It’s akin to many other common non-video workflows.

If you’re used to display-referred grading, ACES (and other non-display-referred color pipelines) can feel a bit weird because the waveform is showing you the output and not the values that you are affecting (in display-referred these are the same thing and so the controls feel more directly “attached” to what you’re seeing).