Different colors in Nuke and Resolve

Hello,
So I am using Windows 10, Resolve 16 and Nuke 12. My screen is hardware calibrated to rec709.
No matter what I try colors between the two programs don’t match, Resolve being always slightly brighter, especially in the highlights.

Here a screenshot of my Nuke Setup:

screenshot.PNG|690x388

Here one of my Resolve project settings:

And here one of the two pictures next to each other:

There definetely is that sliht difference.
I tried different IDTs and always have the same result.

I appreciate any advice.

Moreover, I have noticed that my whites behave general a bit weird (at leat to my knowledge) in Nuke.
Let’s say I put a constant node with a value of 1. It will appear slightly greyish and even the built in waveforms in Nuke will please the brightness at around 80. Is that supposed to be like that? And the Alpha channel is not affected by the way, only RGB.

So, I am just starting out with Aces and just cannot get over the initial barriers. I appreciate any help!

I’ve also tried different file formats. There’s always that slightest different. Also the tint is slightly off by by the way.

Hello @Olibaba and welcome to acescentral !

It seems that you are not using the same ACES version both in Nuke and resolve. Could you try using ACES 1.1 in both ?

Yes, it is completely normal that a white constant of value scene-referred (1,1,1) displays at approximatively at (0.83,0.83,0.83) through the Rec.709 (ODT). This is because of the tonemapping.

Regards,
Chris

That shouldn’t be it. The Rec.709 transforms didn’t change between 1.0.3 and 1.1.

@Olibaba What I notice is that it seems you’re using sRGB as your viewing transform in OCIO but in your settings in Resolve you’re using Rec. 709. These transforms are not equivalent. The primaries are the same but the transfer function is not. Try setting Nuke to Rec 709 instead of sRGB.