Help Gamma vs Log

Hi, this is my first post in this forum.

I’m studying the color science before learning Aces and I’m trying to better understand the difference between these two types of encodings: Log and gamma.

Coding with a power function (“gamma correction”), is a coding that is used to compress a wide dynamic range (photometric, linear) in a perceptually uniform way, saving information where it is needed, and throwing away what is not needed, to a particular type of screen, sRGB for consumer monitors, Rec709 for HD TVs and so on.
But there are also many professionals who say that this correction continues to be applied for a “production” matter, as when LCD monitors came to market, they mimicked the way CRT monitors worked to be compatible with capture systems. which encoded video signals with “1 / 2.2”.

Which of these is the main reason why today we code with a gamma function?

Personally, the answer I gave myself is that we still need gamma encoding because our screens can’t recreate the scene light, so we need to compress that gamma for a particular screen. So backwards compatibility or not, gamma encoding is mainly for this … am I wrong?

As for log encoding, this is not meant for a screen, but is meant to intelligently save a large amount of dynamic range with a “photographic” approach. So it is possible to take a 16bit linear signal (for example), and save it with 10-12 bits.

However I read graphs in which the rec709 encoding is compared with log curves such as C-log or S-log and I notice that the rec709 encoding is practically linear, with a greater slope than the log curves. But what does this mean in practice?

Let’s say we have a camera and the sensor of this camera can represent a dynamic range of 15 stops, before reaching full scale. If I choose to encode using rec709 will I have all my stops, or just the first ten (for example)?