LMT's / film emulation

Hello!

i’ve read alot about the ACES workflow, the documentation really helps understanding the whole concept. I’ve used aces as a starting point for a few projects now and even though i’m far from an expert on this subject, it already helped in making some nice consistent-looking grades. There are just a few things that i cannot really find here/on the web, One of them is practically applying LMT’s. I’ve seen the documentation on this forum as well. it shows some nice examples with a visualisation of the workflow.

I am using davinci resolve as my main tool for color grading. If i set the project color science to ACES(cc/cct), apply a rec709ODT in the project settings window, the adjustments in the node graph are basically the LMT, correct? Now i’ve seen a few CTL files here on the forum, but just a few. This CTL file can’t be applied directly in resolve. What is the workflow for applying it inside resolve?

Can i see the LMT simply as a lut? Is there a database with LMT’s somewhere to ‘‘play’’ with?

1 Like

Hi Rick,
Thanks for your first post and welcome!

Steve T
ACESCentral Admin

@Paul_Dore’s OFX plugin includes the LMTs from @sdyer’s examples, with user adjustable parameters.

Hi Nick, thanks for pointing me to that topic. However in that topic the first post shows a plugin which is compatible for resolve 15, at the moment i am using 16. Further down i see a link for resolve 16, but for mac only it seems. (i’m using windows 10)

Another bit further i see this link: https://github.com/baldavenger/ACES_DCTL