New to ACES, and confused with results! C4D and Arnold

Hi all!

This looks like a place to get an answer or two! I’m new to ACES and trying to understand what I’ve got right and what I’ve got wrong, so I’d like to pose a list of questions…specific to Cinema 4D and Arnold, if anyone can help? Rendering straight from C4D to multipass compositing in AE, but no footage to mix with or whatnot, just CG renders.

1. What is the correct format for EXR multi-layer files rendered from C4D (using Arnold renderer, but C4D file encoding, not Arnold drivers): I have simply set to OpenEXR 32 bit, with Zip compression in blocks of 16 scanlines, default from C4D.

Now I suspect I should be using uncompressed 16-bit EXR with 16 bit-float checked ‘‘ON’’…
Is this simply a matter of efficiency and disk space utilization? Or is there an impact in colour / luminance etc.? I ran a test, and there seem to be few differences, but the uncompressed 16bit EXR with 16bit float is actually larger than ZIP compressed 32 bit EXR.

Please confirm / deny!

1. Using ACES OCIO 1.2 delivered a very different looking render than using the default ACES option standard in Arnold 7. Is it best to stay ‘up to date’ with the latest OCIO, or is the implementation in Arnold the best way to access ACES through that renderer? FWIW, the OCIO 1.2 has less saturated colours, seems a little darker than the default ACES in Arnold 7, some lighting differences.

Of course, I had to use ACES 1.2 OCIO as the config file in AE, as I don’t think there is a config file anywhere for the Arnold default implementation.

Or is there? That might explain the big difference in the renders…:thinking:

Is it to be expected that ACES color-conversion makes 'darker’textures, and the answer is more light in the scene?

Many thanks for any clarification.

The most important thing is to use the same OCIO config in all of your software. That insures a consistent viewing environment.