OpenDRT Withdrawn

I am requesting that OpenDRT be withdrawn as an ACES output transform candidate.

As Chris has pointed out a couple of times before, OpenDRT is very similar to Filmlight’s TCAM. If OpenDRT would be selected as the next ACES output transform, I believe this would be crossing an ethical boundary. Therefore I am asking that it be withdrawn.

I have also decided to license my open-display-transform repo under GPLv3.

2 Likes

Hello Jed,

I can certainly appreciate your decision to use GPLv3 but here are a few things to consider for people reading this thread and yourself.

Please note that this is not legal advice as I’m not a lawyer but I certainly deal a lot with that at work and at home.

1. GPLv3 is a viral license, everything that uses GPL code must be, if redistributed, licensed as GPL3.
  2. Nuke is a closed-source commercial application and is the image processing workhorse of virtually the entire Entertainment industry.
  3. Nuke scripts are basically TCL, thus directly subject to that license by inclusion of any GPLv3 Blinkscript / TCL code.
  4. Studios are generally extremely adverse to GPL: It means that if they want to sell a piece of software in the future, e.g. Katana, Mari, Mudbox, Nuke, etc…, if GPL touched it, they must also redistribute the source code. A game will obviously be subject to the same constraints.
  5. GPLv3 is not only incompatible with OpenColorIO but with the entire ASWF stack.
  6. GPLv3 is incompatible with aces-dev.

With that in mind and whilst respecting your choice, fully, I would like to point out that you are somehow forbidding the integration of your work almost everywhere but the hobbyist at home or the minority of studios that are fine using GPL software, e.g. Blender.