Preserving Logos and Graphics in ACES

Hello everybody.
I’m very sorry, but after two days of research and testing, I still can’t get it to work.
I am completely new to the ACES workflow. I’m in my first project (Davinci Resolve 16.2) and everything regarding footage works really well.

But I can’t get graphics, logos etc. to look as they are supposed to.
Basically I would like to bypass any ACES transformation, so corporate logos and colors do not get altered.
If I choose “sRGB” as the input, the colors are at least similar to how the logo should look like but I get a really weird fringing on edges.

I have tried almost every combination of input, output and other settings suggested here in the forum, but I just can’t get it to work.

Original Logo

Logo in ACES
ACES Input Transform: sRGB

Timeline Settings
01 Timeline

Part two of my question is Fusion graphics. Those colors will get transformed, too, but I have no way to select the input/output for this in the color-tab in Resolve. Do I insert an ACES-Transform node within Fusion for that?

Hi Paul,

I can’t help you specifically with Resolve - I didn’t have to work yet in Resolve with titles and graphics in ACES, but I am doing this with Autodesk flame. And I just recently wrote an article about how to deal with logos & titles in ACES there. You can find it here in the forum called “Flame & ACES”.

But in general - a scene referred environment like ACES “takes” your logo into the scene, that’s why it has to look different when it comes to colors and brightness.

When you use the standard Resolve Color Management (I think you can also call it no color management) then you work display referred the same as your logo which was also created display referred. So its not a problem add the logo on top of your camera footage.