sRGB Textures to ACEScg

Hi there, I’m new to ACES, but have read the VES whitepaper and have trawled through the forums quite a bit. However, I’m a little confused about the correct way to work with sRGB textures out of packages which are not using the ACES workflow and then convert them to scene-linear for rendering within an ACES workflow.

In my case, I am stuck with only being able to export sRGB textures. If I open these textures in Nuke with a regular-old sRGB colorspace, they get linearised to the values I expect. However, if I try to load them with Output - sRGB, as I have seen suggested here: sRGB Jpeg use in ACEScg my colours are wildly different. What am I missing here? Utility - sRGB - Texture is also way off, but a little closer.

I don’t want to load these textures as sRGB into Maya for rendering as I want to convert to scene-linear before mipmapping, as suggested in the whitepaper. Is it not possible to avoid a colour shift? I paint with physically accurate values when texturing that I intend to be rendered 1:1.

Hello Shane,

I reckon you should load your textures as ‘Utility - sRGB - Texture’.
I only use ‘Output - sRGB’ to write jpgs. Never to import stuff.
I have read in some posts people were loading using ‘Output - sRGB’ but it never worked for me… I am not sure why to be honest.

This is the node I would use to convert my textures in Nuke:

I personally do not convert convert my textures and generally use this setup in Maya after doing my textures in Photoshop.

And to answer your question, I guess you will always have a shift when you convert because of the change of primaries from sRGB to ACEScg…

Hope that helps! :wink:

Chris

1 Like

Thanks for your response, but this doesn’t really solve my issue. I am using mipmapped textures and want to convert them to ACEScg before mipmapping them and bringing them into Maya, This is explained here: https://www.visualeffectssociety.com/sites/default/files/files/cinematic_color_ves.pdf