Using ACES transform to work with YRGB in ACEScct color managed workflow

Hi folks
I’m really new to ACES workflow and can’t really get the hang of the color controls to get the desired look ,I’m really used to the regular YRGB workflow in resolve .
Today just saw a youtube tutorial where the guy used ACES transform inside ACEScct workflow to convert from ACES to rec709 and back again to ACES using other node with ACES transform ofx,
the controls between these two nodes behave as a regular YRGB and I can really get my desired look created easily , but I’m quite new to ACES so I don’t know if this workflow will hold up or this is something that can break my image and I’m not supposed to do this .

In the screenshot below I’m using node 2 for ACEScct -> REC709 and node 3 for REC709->ACEScct and between these two nodes the controls in node 4 and 5 feels exactly as in YRGB workflow.

Hi Prateeksrivastav10,

I think I saw the initial presentation of that video too.
ACES works differently than YRGB in resolve, but when you use a 3D-LUT, also not so much from a work step perspective.

You are used to work in DaVinci-YRGB and when you work with an ALEXA LogC Clip, I guess you would not apply the LogC2Rec709 3D-LUT in the Media page and the move over to the Color page.

I assume you prefer to add the 3D-LUT in a serial node in the Color tab.

Your screenshot above is taking your scene referred camera data (ACEScct) , apply a Rec.709 (display referred) view transform to it, which is a lossy conversion. Then you “want” to grade this result, promote it back to ACEScct and apply again whatever ODT (in your case also Rec.709).

This sounds similar to me like applying a 3D-LUT already in the media page. It is the wrong place, when you want to preserve all your high dynamic range data and wide gamut that the camera can record.
A lossy conversion should always happen at the end of the process chain and not in the middle.