Workflow questions for converting BRAW to ACES for VFX

Hello there, I’m new to the forum so please let me know if I posted in the wrong category or need more specific information. I’m also a student and very new to the ACES workflow, so thank you for putting up with my perhaps silly questions and uninformed terminology. :slight_smile:

I’m trying to convert footage I shot on a Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera 6k in BRAW to ACES, so I can use it in Nuke, Photoshop and Blender for a visual effects project.

I am interpreting the Braw directly as ACES in Davinci Resolve (with the color management set to ACES 1.1) using the RAW Converter. I also tried another route, by having Resolve set to the default color science and applying an ACES Transform LUT after interpreting the BRAW as Rec.709 Footage. Both gives the same result, so I assume the process does what it is supposed to do. But looking at the result through an ODT for my monitor (ACES to sRGB), the result looks very contrasty / high contrast. The situation on the location did definitely not have that much contrast - it was an overcast day with almost no direct sunlight, so the difference between darkness and highlights shouldn’t be that extreme in my opinion. The colors also look very saturated, more than I would expect a “neutral look” to look like:

Of course I could adjust the exposure slider while working in Nuke, so I can both judge the highlights as well as the dark parts of the image. But for the final grade I want to “compress” both ends anyways, so I get an image that both has detail in the shadows as well as the highlights. Because of this, working with an ACES file that looks way too contrasty throughout the entire pipeline is very annoying - especially because part of my workflow involves Blender, which does not support adjusting the preview exposure for camera backgrounds.