Z Cam zlog2 workflow

Hi folks,

This is a topic about the cameras from Z Cam not the DRT :slight_smile: .
@yooofi came to me with the question how he could manage some footage from a Z Cam camera shot in zlog2 for compositing properly. After some back and forth we came to the conclusion that their tools are a bit weird. I’m not an image engineer but I think there are at least some big question marks so hope any of you can help me get more clarity on this.

On their website they provide the following assets.

1. ACES page with example script for Nuke, a DCTL and a zlog2 to linear .cube LUT + zlog2 color to AP0 and AP1 .spimtx files.

2. A LUT page with a zip download containing conversion LUTs and an OFX plugin.

The interesting part is they seem to use a .cube file to convert zlog2 to linear within 0-1 float.
They then scale this up by multiplying but it’s inconsistent and vaguely commented.

DCTL:

DEFINE_LUT(Zlog2ToLinear, ./zlog2_to_linear_4096.cube)

__DEVICE__ float3 transform(int p_Width, int p_Height, int p_X, int p_Y, float p_R, float p_G, float p_B)
{
    float r = p_R;
    float g = p_G;
    float b = p_B;

// zlog2 to linear
    float3 res = APPLY_LUT(r, g, b, Zlog2ToLinear);

// gain factor for aces ap0, could adjust this factor according to the actual requirements
    r = res.x * 8.0f * 3.7f;
	g = res.y * 8.0f * 3.7f;
	b = res.z * 8.0f * 3.7f;

// zlog2 to acesap0
	res.x = 0.59268922f * r + 0.23980554f * g + 0.09364286f * b;
	res.y = 0.0078253f * r + 0.99994013f * g + (-0.07973914f) * b;
	res.z = 0.06103745f * r + (-0.24592234f) * g + 1.13939635f * b;

return res;
}

So here they multiply by 8 and then again by 3.7 (why twice?).
However, in the Nuke example on the website it looks like a multiply of 7.416
The DCTL comment:

// gain factor for aces ap0, could adjust this factor according to the actual requirements