Discrepancies using a “pseudo” ACES workflow in DaVinci Resolve via ACES Transform OFX Plugin

The latest versions of Davinci Resolve (from 15.2.2 but maybe since v15?) allow for creating a very powerful “pseudo” ACES workflow using DaVinci’s new ACES Transform OFX plugins. It also allows for using tools designed to work in Davinci YRGB colour Science inside a full fledged ACES workflow within DaVinci.

The scope of this post is not to dive deep into all the possibilities of both scenarios but to explore what I found to be a slight discrepancy on the rendering that DaVinci applies to an Alexa LogC image when you create a pseudo-ACES workflow using ACES Transform nodes (in YRGB colour science) as opposed to setting your Colour Science to ACES (ACEScct in my case) on the colour management preferences.

The pseudo ACES workflow was briefly described in a previous post:
https://community.acescentral.com/t/luts-that-emulate-the-aces-workflow/1334/11?u=theoribeiro

I’m no colour scientist, rather a curious cinematographer who is very interested in colour so forgive me if my tests are very empirical and the results not exactly conclusive.

I created three testing scenarios to see if the results were the same when processing both a 16bit Linear Grey Ramp and the classic ARRI Isabella.dpx test image.

Scenario 1 consisted of Setting Resolve’s Colour Science to ACES on the colour management preferences.
Scenario 2 used a “pseudo” ACES workflow using ACES Transform OFX plugins in two nodes.
Scenario 3 used Lattice in conjunction with Resolve to create a 128^ sized CUBE LUT in Lattice that concatenates 5 corresponding ACES CTLs and then processing the files using the generated LUT in DaVinci Resolve (I tried processing the DPX files in Lattice but the results were very poor).