RGB Saturation Gamut Mapping Approach and a Comp/VFX Perspective

Background

I have been following the conversation about gamut mapping with great interest since it started. I have a feature film vfx perspective on the topic which might be useful. My background is compositing.

In Comp…

In comp the plate is king. All work we do strives to preserve the integrity of the original camera photography. Integration of cg renders, mattepaintings, reconstruction, cleanup etc. In the last few years it has become more common to adopt ACEScg as the working gamut. This approach has advantages. It helps with consistency of imagery from the cg pipeline. It helps with consistency of color pipeline between shows. But it also comes with some problems.

On quite a few shows over the years I have seen the same problem resurface. Highly saturated light sources and flares causing out of gamut artifacts. These negative pixels cause issues for comp. We are familiar with negative pixels in grain and shadow areas, but it becomes difficult to do our work when areas of the image that we need to do work on have this artifact.

I have seen the fallout of a few different approaches for solutions. Leaving the artifacts for comp to deal with can be dangerous and can require a lot of effort to QC comps and support artists. The “Blue light fix” LMT 3x3 matrix essentially shifts the working gamut of the show and can cause problems with cg not matching plates. It can also cause problems when the fix is reversed on delivery, with certain colors getting more saturated than intended. If you’re shifting the working gamut of the show why not just keep the original camera gamut?

Requirements for VFX